DELICIOUS FINDS

SINGAPORE, January 2010 – In the past week I’ve been here in Singapore – before flying back to Indonesia for the start of the second semester – two new food places caught my attention. I’m not a foodie like my friends Lou (she’s very much at home in the kitchen) and Patricia (she’s getting bronzed in her favorite beach, Boracay) but I enjoy a meal or two here and there.

I do profess a fondness for pancakes and waffles. The Pancake House in the Philippines is the place I go for my fill of pancakes especially the choco-marble, which I spread with whipped butter and peanut butter, and lace with maple syrup. In Singapore, I had to settle for pancakes at McDonald’s and the tiny ones at The Coffee Club. I found a piece of excellent compote waffle at Marvelous Cream Japanese Sweets Parfait at the lower level of 313 @ Somerset, En route to the Somerset MRT, curiosity struck me when I saw the sign and the mini parfait displays. Then my eyes strayed to the sign that said Heavenly Compote Waffle | S$3. Sinking my teeth into the Dark Cherry Compote & Custard Pudding – yum-may!

The other one is the nine-month old Filipino restaurant Bonifacio on 35 Kreta Ayer Road. It’s reasonably priced (think S$20++ per person for a complete meal) and the menu carries a whole gamut of the old-time Pinoy favorites such as kare-kare, leche flan and kilawin to name a few. I dug into fresh lumpia after carefully separating the chopped up chorizo sausage, kilawin and calamares. My friends happily tucked into their kare-kare bagnet and rice. A meal is not a meal if there’s no dessert. The sweet finale had us digging into Spanish doughnut (it must be dipped in chocolate sauce) and turon drizzled with caramel sauce.

Delicious finds indeed!

Leave a Reply

