FACING CHANGES

It sounds trite but change is the only constant force in the universe, which no one can hide from.  This I’ve learnt through the past two-three years but never really accepted the concept in its entirety. There was this underlying fear to fail, to be wounded, to fall flat on my face in front of people, and of embarrassing myself. Then the universe gave me several nudges – far from gentle ones – and after fully accepting that changes are inevitable in one’s life, only then did the stomach spasms, headaches, anxiety attacks and paranoia subside.

I still get the panic attacks when I get a whiff of Change’s impending appearance in my life. But, unlike before where my fear gets the best of me, I face it and look through the new page of the script of my life handed to me calmly.

Also, it helps to know that I’m not alone in this fear of the big – or small – changes in one’s life. I’ve dog-eared the pages in Carly Fiorina’s book Tough Choices: A Memoir that serve, at this moment, as a mantra:  “Coping with change is like learning anything new – a new workout routine, a new diet, a new golf swing, a new job. At first it’s really hard. It feels unnatural and requires lots of effort. Sometimes you give up and go back to the old way of doing things. But if you keep at it, over time what was once new becomes easier and easier until it’s almost second nature.”

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by I-am-aoisoba on September 6, 2010 at 11:26 am

    don’t forget the ever nagging voice saying ‘What if it does’t work out?’ …
    but i think ben and jerry’s cookie dough ice cream should not change at all 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

