FLATTENED BRAIN

It’s not meant to be comical but the effect is, well, comical to the point of farcical.   This has been a week filled with heavy downpours (literally) and avalanche of mind-boggling stupidity. I can deal with the rain because it keeps the scorching heat at bay and me from switching on the air conditioner. But the latter is something that gets my tummy in knots and my patience tested to the limit.

Sitting on my brain was definitely not allowed when I was child, which explains why I chafe at the collar whenever I find myself in a situation that reeks of a brain flattened by someone’s derriere.  Take this episode for instance. I had asked someone to look for the technician and request for the lapel microphones to be used for the dress rehearsal of the play Francis & Laura. He came back sans the technician and the microphones, and just sat down.

“Where are the microphones?” I asked.

“ I didn’t get them because I couldn’t find the technician’s office. They told me to come back here,” he replied.

“Did you ask around where the office of the technician is?”

“No, I didn’t.”

“Why didn’t you?! Where’s the logic there?!” I nearly screamed at him.

After that little discussion and directions to the technician’s office, he was off and – thank the universe for his resuscitated brain cells – returned with the assistant of the technician bearing the lapel microphones.

Meanwhile, in another similar flattened-brain scenario, a friend was completely aghast at how a colleague perpetually sat on his brain and thought that mumbling an apology for his lack of cerebral follow through was pardonable. The medium of language that my friend uses to conduct her class is in English so, logically, exams, quizzes and other forms of assessment will be in English. Her colleague, who is her supervisor, asked her one fine day to give an exam, which she agreed until she realised that he handed her scripts in the students’ native tongue.

“Oh, sorry ya,” was the reply she got when she pointed out the discrepancy in her medium of instruction and the language of the exam was in. And he left it at that.

Such situations are more than enough to rile you but the black comedy element, on a slight positive note, gives you a moment’s respite from annoyance and frustration at this gross ineptitude.

Leave a Reply

