BREATHE

Our worlds travelled on parallel roads
You were there
I was here
Boundaries were safely maintained by the distance and
Further stayed by devotion to others
Intermittent hellos maintained our friendly ties
I breathed easily then
Inhaling positivity, exhaling negativity
Out went the memories that scarred my soul: of a love received and refused in the same breath
In went hopes of a future free from the torment of the past
I felt safe from the yearnings that tugged at me, pushing me to the edge of sanity
The breathing is labored now
The mind agitated, hard-pressed to face your ghost
As deconstruction commenced through veiled actions and words
Only to be met by strong denial in the face of unmasking
 
You tell me the past is at the back of your mind
 I keep my silence, letting my voice scream through the mask of nonchalance:
I’ve been living with it for decades
Shadow-boxing with it through the tears, forced smiles and lies
Propelled by the need to uphold appearance and feel a semblance of peace
One response to this post.

  1. one can argue that it can go both ways

    Reply

Leave a Reply

