FRUITY SIP

Avocado or strawberry-pineapple-grape juice?

To take the edge of a hectic day or to soothe over the great feeling of disquietude, I usually get a drink. But getting a drink in my context doesn’t translate to hard drinks although, at one point, it meant having a glass of screwdriver. Nowadays, with the threshold for alcoholic drinks at an all-time low, I settle for something less stronger, say, caramel frappuccino at Starbucks or an ice-blended drink from Coffee bean. But there are days when even caffeine is a tad strong for me. Water is a prerequisite but there are times when the taste buds want something new, exciting and fruity.

I’m not much of a tangy-on-the-taste bud kind of person. Strawberry juice doesn’t sit well with me nor does watermelon. Pineapple juice and fresh buko (coconut) juice are on-off favourites. Then I stumbled upon a newly opened fruit juice stall on the ground floor of Cyber Park Bekasi, in between a book store and the Bumbu Desa restaurant. Its colourful kiosk never failed to catch the eye of passers-by and, apparently, business is brisk because, at one point, the avocado juice and banana juice weren’t available. Price is affordable – Rp10, 000 per cup for any juice – and the taste is flavoursome

Rp10,000 for a cup of juice at Fruity Drinks

“Habis Ibu,” said the attendant, who was dressed in a rainbow top and cap, apologetically after I gave him my order of alpukat (that’s Indonesian for avocado).

No alpukat so that night I decided to be adventurous and try jambu (Indonesian for guava) from the Special Mix Juice section. I wouldn’t have finished it if it were not for the grass jelly and konyaku jelly bits mixed in with it.  A friend settled for the strawberry-pineapple – grape juice in lieu of his regular banana-strawberry drink, which was finished for the night too.

There are still other juices and juice combination to choose from, but I’m sticking to my no-sugar alpukat and its good fat.

Do they have what you like?

One response to this post.

  1. Excellent blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.

    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

