CUPCAKES BY SOPHIE AND KATHERINE

Bee-yoo-ti-ful cupcakes!

My cousins were driving me to the one of the places that I wanted to see in Washington DC, and the drive from Waldorf to Georgetown was 45 minutes to an hour. I was keeping my fingers crossed that there’d be no traffic. I first saw it over at Star World, one of the cable network channels in Asia, and I was completely hooked. DC Cupcakes, the TV show of the popular Georgetown Cupcake, completely sold me on their cupcakes and the idea to travel to their outlet in Washington DC. I hadn’t tasted any of their cupcakes yet but I felt I was sinking my teeth into the cupcakes just by watching Sophie and Katherine bake and frost them with the wicked icing.

Welcome to cupcake heaven

Their creativity, patience and determination to complete projects that were complex and time-consuming were absolutely awe-inspiring.  They never reneged on their promises to their numerous clients and managed to come up with ingenious recipes and jaw-dropping cupcake-rendition of various things like guitar, dog, gorilla, high-heeled shoe, logos, operational slot machine and many more.

So many cupcakes, so little time!

Yesterday afternoon was the day I trooped to their outlet at 3301 M St NW Washington DC and carted off a dozen cupcakes: four Red Velvet; two Vanilla & Chocolate; one each of the Blueberry Cheesecake, Banana Split, Toffee Crunch, Komen Vanilla, Chocolate and Milk Chocolate Birthday.

She packs them oh-so-gently and carefully

Sisters Sophie Kallinis-La Montagne and Katherine Kallinis were nowhere in sight but huge posters in the store made it feel like they were. I’m guessing that they are either busy finalising season 3 of their show or vetting their The Cupcake Diaries, recipes and memories from two sisters of Georgetown Cupcake, which is slated to come out on November 8.

Cousin Och - my cupcake partner

The cupcakes are meticulously and aesthetically assembled right done to how the frosting is laid out on top of the cupcakes. Packaging is also an art – each box is filled with a cupcake holder that prevents each cupcake from being squashed or their icing smeared on the cardboard box. The pink boxes of cupcakes are placed in a crisp white carrier bag with a simple design of the name of the store written across the near-bottom of the bag.  As for the taste: my Red Velvet was gone in two- three bites. The taste is balanced, with the cake and frosting complementing each other for that unmatched Georgetown Cupcake experience. One is certainly to come back because each day holds a different array of cupcakes, which one wouldn’t want to mix, as well as the seasonal specials such as Salted Caramel that comes out on a Tuesday and Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl that forms part of the Thursday special.

Red Velvet - the cupcake of all cupcakes

Now I need to plan my next trip to Washington DC fast.

3301 M Street NW Washington Dc 20007

202 333 8448

4834 Bethesda Ave Bethesda MD 20814

301 907 8900

http://www.georgetowncupcake.com

Leave a Reply

