BREAKFAST IS SERVED

The new lunar year of the dragon ushers in a new chapter in my life-novel. I now have a newfound relationship with breakfast. For years I struggled against eating normally and not eating at all for fear of putting on weight, which, on hindsight, was tied in with the emotional coaster ride I had unwittingly gotten on. Work problems (narcissistic bosses who had no directions and back-stabbing insensitive colleagues) collided with personal issues (men and other relationships that were on the brink of exploding) resulted in catastrophic food comas accompanied by enormous pangs of guilt that would push me to engage in workout sessions at the gym that were more detrimental than salubrious to my well-being.

Start the day with pancakes drizzled with maple syrup

But, as I said, when the dragon year set foot in the house, I picked myself out of the rut and repeated to myself under my breath, “Let go of old wrongs and wounds in order to move forward.” Then I dug into breakfast, which meant either pancakes or toast most of the time. When I’m on holiday with my gal-pals, I usually make a beeline to where the pancakes are on the buffet table. I’d spread some butter, drizzle some maple syrup, cut them into little triangular pieces and I’m a happy camper at breakfast. McDonald’s pancakes are all right when I can’t make it to Pancake House for their chocolate marble pancakes when I’m in Manila.

In Monterey, California, my high school friends and I headed to a nice diner suggested by the staff at Hilton Garden Inn. Perusing the menu of Rosine’s, I opted for Downtown under Hometown Favourites, which is a platter of four pancakes, one egg any style, and two strips of bacon.  I skipped over the bacon and went straight for the fluffy pancakes and scrambled egg.

If I’m not in the mood for pancakes, good old toast will do divinely. There was a time I was gaga over kaya toast from Killiney Road in Singapore. Picture rectangular pieces of toast slathered with butter and coconut jam on a red plate accompanied by a small cup of tea with sweet condensed milk and a bowl of two boiled eggs (the runny kind). That’s one’s sweet power breakfast indeed! Unfortunately, I’ve had my fill of kaya toast and was on the lookout for a new toast breakfast. That’s when I decided to try the other toast at Toastbox by Breadtalk. Butter sugar toast and a tall glass of Milo Dinosaur proved to be a wonderful alternative to the kaya toast breakfast combo: light on the tummy but satisfying, sweet but not cloying to the palate.

Breakfast alternative: butter sugar toast by Toastbox

At times I go for a bowl of oatmeal, but only on rainy days. Luckily, I haven’t seen much of those days in several weeks now.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by ako_si_aoi on February 20, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    oh try putting sugar and a squeeze of lemon in your pancake 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

