GRANDMA’S HAIR

She said it’s from her dad’s hometown, Semarang, when she handed them to me before the start of class. I wasn’t exactly sure what to make of them when I saw them more so when she said, in the same breath, that they’re, roughly translated, called Grandma’s Hair. Everyone in class was either biting into it or breaking off small pieces of it, so I figured I’d join them. Opening one package, I bit into it and the thought of cotton candy sandwich zipped through my mind. The pink or green threads in between the two edible disks tasted like cotton candy except it wasn’t on the usual stick. Moreover, no more stick fingers since you bite into like you would a burger. You just need napkin to wipe your lips after and it’s best to have a bottle of glass on hand.

Grandma's hair stackedGrandma's hair sandwich

Leave a Reply

