Poetics of Language

BREATHE

once I welcomed silence with open arms
shutting out the chaotic din of the world
I basked in its stillness and
regaled in listening to the beating from within
hearing my breath escaping with a dancer’s grace
letting my thoughts slide, dip, sashay
glide, float, thump, thud across my mind
parrying shards of pain that rain upon me
with a warrior’s confidence
inhale, exhale
silence is an enemy now flitting through the defenses
taunting me
baiting me
picking on my pains
breaking sealed chapters of the past
summoning courage
I welcome silence once again
embrace its taunts
endure its hisses and heckles
walk side by side with grief
I will bask in stillness again
smile and lock out the clamor of pain
inhale, exhale

2 thoughts on “BREATHE”

  1. Wohoo !! 😀 I love this so much !!
    “silence is an enemy now flitting through the defenses.”
    Ahaha :).
    Let’s beat Shakespheare !

    1. Thanks for reading! Oooh….I don’t think the fans of Shakespeare would like their idol being compared to someone else, but thanks for the kind words. 😀

Leave a comment